London update, R.I.P. mum

New Atlantis Radio / Home Forums Your reports London update, R.I.P. mum

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Zeno 2 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Ashley

I’m Ashley Harper from London and I’m a high school student. At least, that’s what I was before all this went down.

I’m also the oldest one of 6 children, with another one on the way. Or, there was another one on the way.

Sadly, that didn’t go as it was supposed to. But I guess that’s to be expected.

You see, my mum was pregnant before the water crisis hit. As with baby daddies go, she didn’t actually know who put the baby inside her, but she is… or rather *was* always more or less shitfaced all of the time. So she gone and got herself pregnant while I was trying to raise my siblings and keep house. She was always disappearing on us.

She should have listened to me, but no. I had my teacher Sam help me close of the water taps because she couldn’t stop tampering with them. What are the odds that she would discover the miracle of clean water instead of beer, right at the worst possible time? I guess maybe being pregnant does that to you.

I thought she’d be safe with the water closed off and with Sam and his friend Meghan Winslow helping with paperwork so we could get clean water from the government.

My workplace had to close down, until further notice, but I had some cash stashed away, so I took my brother on a water mission with me. Most shops where out of anything remotely drinkable. But we found a couple of bottles of water and pop, and we where on our way home. We took a route that’s usually quiet so we wouldn’t get robbed or nothing. But there’s not many safe places left in our neighborhood anymore I guess. Suddenly out of nowhere some arses went all aggro on us. They busted my brother’s nose and we ran off without any bottles to show for it.